About Us

Get in Touch

NI Horse Board

The Northern Ireland Horse Board is a registered Co-operative Society for people involved in the horse industry in Northern Ireland. It has been formed to give breeders a voice in decisions relating to the Irish Horse Register and in the future direction of breeding in the Irish Sport Horse Industry.


  • To maintain the Irish Horse Register in Northern Ireland
  • To provide registration at affordable prices
  • To encourage greater use of the IHR by NI breeders
  • To improve the quality of stock bred in Northern Ireland
  • To work closely with the Irish Horse Board in areas of mutual benefit
  • To identify and publicise successful NI bred horses

Board Representation

As a registered Co-operative Society, the board of directors will be elected by members at the AGM. The board will consist of twelve members, three of whom will be elected every year. Each will therefore serve a four-year term.


NIHB Board of Directors 

Mr Hugh McCusker-  Chairman
Mr Sam Smyth- Vice Chairman & NIHB Representative to HSI Breeding & Production Advisory Council
Mr Des Stewart- Honorary Treasurer
Ms Joanne Jarden
Ms Judy Maxwell
Mrs Valerie McCallister
Mr Paddy Traynor
Mr Tom McGuigan
Mrs Gillian Creighton
Ms Grace Irwin


NIHB Office Administrator

Mr Christopher Bogle
To view our policies please click link below: